A dead friendship

A dead friendship

By R.H.Ali

 

We always thought we’d look back on our tears and laugh,

But we never thought we’d look back on our laughter and cry

There’s more to this than words can express

And you mean much more to me than any other friend

A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart

And can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words

You’ve forgotten the words, my dear friend

The words of the songs of both our hearts

It’s not fair that you get to leave

And leave me here alone

You’ve been there for me through thick and thin

Just as I have been there for you

Who am I supposed to call on now

You were a vital part of the rock that I balanced on

In the rough waters of this life

Now I may fall into the treacherous waters without you

You leave all the time, then come back

Will you come back this time too?

Then why did you go at all?

Sometimes I wonder if our friendship is really true

Maybe it just has no merit

Maybe it wasn’t meant to be

Maybe there’s a you without me

And a me without you

The ones closest to you are the ones who hurt you the deepest

And you have

You sharpen your knife well

And your aim is so precise

You cut the same spot every time

I wonder why this happens all the time

And maybe

Sometimes the best thing left to say is goodbye

 

6th November 2010

Leave a Reply

