Day 1

BREAKING UP WITH WRITER’S BLOCK

It’s time for you and your Writer’s Block to part ways. Write a letter breaking up with Writer’s Block, starting out with, “Dear Writer’s Block, it’s not you, it’s me…”

***

Second Floor,

In my head,

Everywhere I go.

19th May, 2013

Dear Writer’s Block,

It’s not you, it’s me. I don’t want you to take this the wrong way or anything, so listen up. I’ve decided that this relationship is not working out. I mean yeah sure, we had some good times right? Like that time you and I just stared at the Laptop screen for hours willing ourselves to write a chapter in my novel—we did manage to get through about five cups of my favourite peppermint tea though, didn’t we? Good times I’ll agree! I’ll always remember the fun times you made me take time off from writing just to spend time with you.

Even those days you tricked me into thinking we would spend the evening writing, but instead you had other plans. Or the day you made me forget even the new ideas I had for that new story. Especially the way you get jealous of my protagonists! Oh how I felt special the first time you were jealous, but after that, it prevented me from doing much that needed to be done! I mean sure, I do adore them, but I think you should understand that they’re part of me and I need to write their stories so that I can sleep at night!

I have come to realize though that the demands you put on me to spend so much time with you is really keeping me back from reaching where I want to be as a writer. You know how much writing means to me, and yet you try to consume most of my time. I think it’s best if we spent some time apart, and see other people. I know there’s someone really great out there for you, someone who will love you for who you are. But I just need a break from your constant nagging, which I’m sure someone else would enjoy very much.

You’ve always told me that I’m crazy to want to write so much, so this is just another one of the craziness I do. I’m so crazy that I know that you won’t be happy with me. I promise you. You need someone who will appreciate you better than I do. If you stay with me, you’ll just feel unhappy, and I don’t want to do that to you! So please, find someone else—for you because it’s not you, it’s me.

Regards,

RHAli

Leave a Reply

